/
you're reading...
Injury

48 Hours down; 960 To Go…

Well its been 48 hours since I had my surgery; and I’ve been home since yesterday at 3pm.

No more morphine button; which is saddening. Truly. But they give really good pills to help make up the difference. All jokes aside; the pain (which i was taught to put on a 1-10 scale) is generally about a 1 or a 2; even without pain medicine. I really think in comparison to trying to run on it broken; the rest doesn’t hurt much. That and not being able to get up and move much leaves me feeling pretty good.

Life is always an adventure; and sometimes you just have to get out there and find the best out of it adventure. Today’s adventures with a broken hip (and it’s apparently going to be a long adventure) included taking a bath; going to CVS; and fixing a glass of milk.

Bathing while keeping your upper hip dry proves to be quite challenging; especially when it’s painful to move that hip and it’s non weight-bearing. (try stepping into a bathtub without putting any weight on one of your legs…).  Finding the right position to sit to be able to clean up; only to realize that soap and shampoo that are on a shelf that’s the perfect height for showering; is a long long reach when sitting down.

Going to CVS wasn’t bad; other than a flight of steps to get out of my own front door. Had to find new dressing to cover the staples in my leg; and what the hospital put on me was incredibly hard to duplicate. However; after getting home and finding out how big the incision *actually* is; I bought the wrong thing; and the hospital put on a HUGE dressing compared to how big it needed to be.  4 staples covering an incision that’s maybe 1.5″ long.  (I’m truly amazed at what MD’s can do with minimal intrusion. )

The glass of milk had to be the most challenging.  I wasn’t home alone; and Adah could have gotten it for me; but I’m super independent; and wanted to do for myself. I figure if I’m going to be in these silly crutches for 4-6 weeks; I need to learn to live with them. Someone won’t always be there.  After some looking around; I finally realized the easy way was to carry and empty glass to the table; then carry the milk jug to the table; pour; and return the jug to the fridge.

All three adventures were learning processes. But I’m a little better because of all of them. I guess as long as I learn a little more every day; and get a little better all the time; those 960 hours I have left will fly on by. (it’s 6 weeks total before I’ll be released to do anything but run)

 

Discussion

5 thoughts on “48 Hours down; 960 To Go…

  1. Wow! You’re taking it quite well. I’ll be following along and taking notes, because my number will come up sooner or later. I’ll be running some trail race one minute and wake up in the emergency room the next.

    Posted by ac | November 16, 2010, 11:00 am
    • Well I figure it’s take it in stride or wallow in self pity; and wallowing around just doesn’t seem like much fun. So I may as well make some jokes and pick on myself some; to keep spirits good…. And hopefully in 6 months I’ll want to run still…
      And I honestly hope it doesn’t happen to you; especially not how it happened to me (just break without warning; popping; falling; etc)

      Posted by pthrift | November 16, 2010, 11:53 am
  2. Wallowing in self pity can be fun, just not so much for those around you. Kudos to you for taking the mature route.

    Remember: when the pain and inconvenience get frustrating, make a good blog post out of it. You now have a blog following who expect to be entertained.

    Posted by Barefoot Josh | November 16, 2010, 5:44 pm
  3. Trust me, you’ll want to run in six months. We won’t let you not run!

    You could buy those little kid-size milks while you’re on crutches. Much easier to wrangle. Plus, chocolate milk is supposed to be excellent for recovery.

    Posted by Iris | November 17, 2010, 2:07 am
  4. What you need is called Tegaderm or Opsite. Either brand is fine. Its a clear, adhesive bandage available in several different sizes. You peel off the back and stick it over the incision. Smooth it down and remove the paper liner (its only there to help you place it). It will form a seal that can withstand a shower. You can’t soak in the tub or anything (not that you’ll be doing that anyway seeing how sitting down in the bathtub probably isn’t on your broken agenda) and I wouldn’t reccomend that this become the time to take up hour long showers but it will definitely hold up to a quick shower. After you’re done, you take it off by peeling up the corner, then stretching the plastic-y dressing and it will release from your skin for a painless removal. With your type of incision, you’ll want it to come off because you’ll want air to get to the wound. The Tegaderm forms a complete seal that won’t allow you to air out.

    .

    Just saying…

    Posted by c | November 17, 2010, 2:11 am

Leave a Reply

