/
you're reading...
Injury, Recovery

Healing is Boring.

So I hear my “blog fans” (when did I get important enough to get a fan?) are “clamoring for a recovery update”.  Fans or not; it’s nice to know i have at least a few friends who care.  Healing is a boring process at this point; but; it’s been more than a week since I last posted anything.

I went back to the MD yesterday; and he did x-rays again. The bone is no longer visibly cracked into two pieces anymore…now it looks like a stress fracture would (only with the extra hardware in tact…it was my wife’s first time seeing the hardware; she could not believe how big the screws actually are.)  but the  fracture is very very slight now. I have to get the MD to actually show it to me even though I know where it was broken.

I’m still out of work for a long time. I think he was lying to me about 6 weeks. I have a feeling it will be closer to 8.  Really hoping that my feeling is wrong however. At any rate… I still have my crutches for at least a little more than two weeks; but I’m beginning to wean off of them. This week I will use both crutches but put weight on my leg. Next week; the doc wants me to ditch one crutch and use the other as more  less like a cane.  I think I’m going to borrow an actual cane for that though. I feel foolish enough walking with two crutches (legitimately walking; not doing “the crutch walk”) much less walking with a cane/crutch. I’ll just go with a cane. I don’t see the harm.    After that; I’ll return to the doc on the 17th of December; and he said he plans to get me in physical therapy for a few weeks then I should finally be able to get back to work.

I guess this means I will have to miss the Run for Victory half next weekend. damn. Was looking forward to it too.

On the other side of the coin; I have started to rediscover the things that  I did before I ran. Like model trains at Christmas time;  video games; keeping up with the newest music & movies.  I did not however realize how much time I actually used to spend running and working.

At any rate. Life is dull. Healing is boring. And I’m becoming a couch potato. However; I have big hopes that in two weeks; after I start PT; maybe I can get in some kind of shape again; and get back to working and life as normal.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Healing is Boring.

  1. Dude, you should get a sword cane (cane sword?). If I were some kind of comic book superhero that would totally be my weapon of choice.

    Posted by Barefoot Josh | December 4, 2010, 8:30 am
    • A sword cane; although it has unlimited cool points; would probably be #1 expensive (remember; I am out of work) & #2 impractical…I mean; I still really need the giant rubber tip at the bottom. Unfortunately all the ones that the local sword cane shop sell don’t have this much needed feature.

      Posted by pthrift | December 7, 2010, 3:28 am
  2. It’s admirable that you heed the commands of your fans. Sounds like everything’s going along swimmingly. There’s no better recovery than a boring recovery, I say. Too bad we won’t see you at Victory, but there are plenty more races where that came from. All in good time.

    Posted by Iris | December 5, 2010, 3:38 am

Leave a Reply

