/
you're reading...
Recovery, running, Uncategorized

Week 2 of Physical Therapy

Physical therapy is dull. I may have already said that though. But none the less; I’m going to keep at it. I’m hoping it’s doing some good. The physical therapist keeps looking for something that’s either challenging and/or painful so she has something to “fix”. Nothing yet though.

She has me doing several stretches that I used to do frequently before running (and one great new one;  “the pretzel” which is a great hip abductor stretch…see pic below)

 

 

I’m now up to 3 sets of 15 on every stretch they can think of; most of which are done with a 3lb weight on my leg. I also do 3×10 of leg press (80 pounds. wow. Seems like I remember doing like 200+ pounds at one time…but that’s been a long time ago now)

 

The balancing act I do is the most entertaining to watch. My balance is so far off;  they make me do it on both legs a hundred different ways trying to get it better. I am terrible with it.

 

In other news; I’m back cycling again. I’m slow (slow even for being a novice cyclist)…I made it about 8.5 miles the other day; but it took me nearly 50 minutes.  It does feel good to be working out again.   I can also stand on my feet for 5+ hours too. I’ve been trying to do a little work around the house cleaning up and doing some work on my stereo in my truck.

 

Anyway. I hope the 3 people who read this had a good Christmas.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Week 2 of Physical Therapy

  1. This is all excellent news. Although when I first saw that photo, I thought maybe something else happened to you that you hadn’t mentioned. I’m not a big stretcher, but I really should try that one for my sciatica.

    Christmas at Chez Sutcliffe was quiet. BFJ came home from work on xmas with a big fat head cold, so we lounged around and watched movies and stuff. It always snows when Josh gets a cold, which means I am the official sidewalk/driveway shoveler. (I enjoy it, being native to the Arctic tundra of Wisconsin and all.) The neighbors think we are a strange people.

    Posted by Iris | December 29, 2010, 1:26 am
  2. What motivated you to get a butterfly tattoo on your ankle?

    Did Iris just call me a fat head?

    Cycling is fun; I really miss it sometimes. Glad to hear you’re on the mend! In this case, boring is good, exciting is bad.

    Posted by Barefoot Josh | December 29, 2010, 6:27 am
  3. What are you saying? 50 min to go 8.5 miles on a bike is slow?
    Huh. Maybe I should be getting therapy too.

    Sounds like you’re making great progress. And you are not missing much running-wise. It’s cold and nasty out there.

    Posted by ac | December 29, 2010, 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

