/
you're reading...
Random

Races, races, and more races….

So, I really have to toot the horn of the local running club . They honestly put together an entire “season” of races, that let’s you race 9 months out of the year, taking the three cold months off as a break (Dec, Jan, Feb).  Most any distance you could want to run with the exception of the marathon.  Rough count is 8 5k’s, 2 10k’s, and 2 half marathon’s… that’s just counting what falls on separate dates: both the half marathons have a shorter distance option (5k and 8k) and of course both the 10k’s have a 5k option… a couple trail races, several road races, and a bunch of runs on the Danville Riverwalk trail.   It makes staying in shape easy, because there’s always another race around the corner.

 

They also have a “championship series” for those that are members of the club, which is a points race using 6 races throughout the year.

 

That being said; it’s almost too many races if you like racing out of town too…. I love the local race, but racing with 1000 people is a whole different experience from racing with 45-150 people.

And now here’s the delimma: last year I ran the Cannonball Run Race in Greensboro, because it fell on a Saturday in October that the local races had nothing scheduled. So on a whim, I signed up (decided and signed up on a Wednesday before Saturday’s race).

Race was great. Nice course, well staffed, plenty of aide stations, etc.
That being said, I’d like to run the race again. BUT it falls on the same Saturday as one of the running club’s series-races. Crap. I realize a race in October is a long ways away, but still. It’s a delimma to me none-the-less.   I have a feeling I’ll end up going to Greensboro, but who knows.

 

In other news, I went back to the MD doctor again this past Friday, apparently I’m doing pretty good. Did x-rays, again, and all’s well on that front. I am now allowed to up mileage as I see fit, and if I “run” into any pain, I’m supposed to call him. Otherwise I’ve got 30 days Doctor free!!!! Sure will be nice!

 

Discussion

One thought on “Races, races, and more races….

  1. My vote goes to supporting your local club’s series on 10/8 and running Triple Lakes the next weekend instead of Cannonball. The Triple Lakes shirt is way cooler.

    Posted by Iris | February 16, 2011, 5:29 am

Leave a Reply

