/
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Running has officially driven me to “Insanity”

Yup. It happened to me, I suppose it could happen to you too.

 

Tonight I started the “Insanity” workout program. It’s a 60 day program, that claims it can challenge anyone at any fitness level. I wanted to do some core-strengthening stuff for this year, and this struck me as a wonderfully challenging way to do it.  I looked into P90X also, but it required so many free weights, a pullup bar, etc, that it turned me off from it.
Insanity only uses your own body against yourself, doing lots of core moves, plyolmetrics, and a ton of cardio workouts. Seems to be a good cross-training system for a runner, right?

 

Well I’m gonna give it a shot anyway. It’s a 60 day program, and I plan to do it once and see how it goes, and most likely will modify it around my running schedule after this first go.

 

Day 1 was a fit test, that I am to repeat every two weeks through-out the 60 days, to judge fitness levels and improvement. I have to say, it was rough. I thought I’d breeze through this and have no trouble (the workout instructor tells you to take a break as needed). Each “test” (there are 8) are one minute long with approx 1 minute breaks inbetween. On two or three of them I couldn’t do the exercise for the entire minute. I was shocked. I am sitting here now in a literal pool of sweat huffing and puffing. Man, this could be rough.

 

As I’m not too concerned with weight loss and such, I’m not following his meal plans, I’m simply going to do the workouts and still run 3-4X a week. All while racing every saturday for the next month. Hmm. Maybe I picked a bad time of the year to start this thing.

 

I may update this daily while it’s going on, or maybe weekly, or maybe never again. That’s for another day to decide, and as it’s now 3 am and I need to be up early for a 6-9 mile run tomorrow, I’m headed to bed.

 

 

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Running has officially driven me to “Insanity”

  1. Re food, just try to get in lots of fruit and veggies. I’m not in to diet plans either. Although, who knows, maybe I should be.

    Re racing and Insanity workouts, just be careful and understand that your race times might not be what you want them to be – for now. Just give solid efforts.

    I think I’m going to make my own exercise program called Canine Calisthenics. It will be a series of chasing off-leash dogs, getting jumped on by Rhodesian Ridgebacks with sharp claws, and the occasional frisbee to the face.

    Posted by Barefoot Josh | March 8, 2011, 8:08 pm
    • Food- Ill keep that in mind.
      Races- eh. I just broke a hip. What’s a race time right now, anyway? I mean, I went from 7 min miles in training to something close to 9’s now. Times are shot anyway.
      Your own program interests me. I may or may not be interested in trying it when I finish insanity

      Posted by pthrift | March 8, 2011, 11:12 pm
  2. I have a good friend that did the 60 days and she raves about it.
    I personally saw the difference, her legs were very strong and her arms beautiful!
    It’s rough but you can see the results!
    Keep us posted how it goes.

    Posted by biancavalentim | March 24, 2011, 4:55 am

Leave a Reply

