/
you're reading...
running, Training

Training Schedules

Reading Josh‘s blog about stretching & toilets (interesting theory, by the way…check it out) got the wheels to turning about training programs. I feel like it’s time for me to start with one again. Otherwise it seems like I’m lost and slacking.

I have a generalized idea of what I’m doing and where I’m heading with my running. I haven’t been putting in but 3 days a week for the last couple months, and I’m up to roughly 20-ish miles a week, depending on the wind, rain, and my own personal whims. Maybe saying 20ish is pushing it. 3 weeks ago, I logged nearly 24 miles. 2 weeks back-17 miles (including a half marathon). Last week- 14 miles. So far this week-3, but I’ll catch another 3-5 tomorrow, 2+ on Saturday at a race, and another half marathon on Sunday. So that will be roughly 21-23ish for this week.
I will say I’ve been worried about injury here lately. No real reason, other than concern over my hip (will those worries every really go away? I’m guessing not…), but I keep waiting for impending doom to set in any minute. Other than some strange pain in the top-ish of my right foot that’s just as likely to be from steel-toe boots at work as it is from running, I have no real aches, pains, stiffness, etc to speak of.

All that being said, I’ve been looking into some really different training programs and taking the shotgun approach to races/distances. I seem to enjoy racing more than running, even if I’m not the best at it. Maybe it’s all the uber-cool free t-shirts.  I’ve raced every weekend for the last 4 weeks, and I’ve got 2 races this weekend (one is more of a charity run than a true race), and have at the very least the next 4 weeks set in stone for racing.  I’m doing everything from 2-milers to half marathons. No real preference here, just whatever is up this weekend I’ll go ahead and do.

I have it figured, though, if I start training for one big race, I can go ahead and buckle down and really see some improvements in my running and my times. But the question is, lets say I train for the marathon distance. Will 5k times suffer?

In my case, I’m thinking not. I believe that just logging a few more miles and doing some form of legitimate speed/hill/fartlek workouts will drop my times down, at least to the point of where they were last November (just under 20 minutes).

So for the time being, here’s what I’m going to loosely follow. It’s from howtorunamarathon.net & this is what they call base building. To me it looks like a tough enough schedule for me to see improvement. I suppose I’ll start it this Sunday, and stretch what it recommends for 8 miles out to 13.   The guy who authored this program doesn’t believe in more than 16 miles for marathon training. Crazy huh?

Week# Sunday Monday Tuesday Wed. Thursday Friday Saturday
1 8 Miles 3-4 miles 5 miles Rest 5 miles Rest 3-4 miles
2 8 Miles 3-4 miles 5 miles Rest 5 miles Rest 3-4 miles
3 10 Miles 3-4 miles 5 miles 3-4 miles 5 miles Rest 3-4 miles
4 10 Miles 3-4 miles 5 miles 5 miles 5 miles Rest 3-4 miles
5 10 Miles 3-4 miles 5 miles 6 miles
Hills
3-4 miles Rest 3-4 miles
6 12 miles 3-4 miles 5 miles 6 miles
Hills
3-4 miles Rest 3-4 miles
7 12 miles 3-4 miles 5 miles 7 miles
Hills
5 miles Rest 3-4 miles
8 12 miles 3-4 miles 7 miles
Hills
6 miles 7 miles
Hills
Rest 3-4 miles
9 12-14 miles 3-4 miles 7 miles 7 miles
Hills
7 miles Rest 5 miles
10 12-14 miles 3-4 miles 7 miles 7 miles
Hills
5 miles Rest 5 miles

But, he also doesn’t believe in rest days after long runs. This is the part about the training that caught my eye. Sure he’s 10 miles short on distance. He’s also not buffering you with days off before and after the long runs. This fits well in my I-want-to-race-every-weekend mentality. Rest days are on Fridays (day before my race) and then catch a long run on Sunday. Generally speaking, this is how I do it anyway, and I saw awesome results pretty quickly last year.

Besides, the marathon I have in mind is a long ways off (next January) so I am allowing myself plenty of time to work my way up to both the distance and the speed I so desire.
In other news (that probably should be in a different post all together) I’ve got two races this weekend. A high-school rival facebook’ed me on Tuesday and said he’s coaching for the team he used to run on, and they are doing a charity run for a child with cancer. I had my choice of a 2 miler or a 5k, and knowing the high schools course was brutally difficult, I chose the much safer 2 mile option. We’ll see Saturday morning how that turns out.

Then Sunday morning, I’m getting up at 3:45AM to drive 2 hours one way to run a race that I hope to complete in less than 2 hours. It’s the Raleigh Rocks Half Marathon, and I’m pretty excited. I must say, though, it’s a much different type of excitement than the Martinsville Half, where I was worried about times and such. I’m just plain excited about this one.  Race director claims there’s nearly 2000 people registered, making this my biggest race ever. Not to mention, it has an AWESOME finishers medal. I mean, who doesn’t want a really cool guitar to wear around?

So that’s that. I’m not prepared for either race this weekend, and am not stressing any of it. I’ll call it all training for another race at a later date.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Training Schedules

  1. I love your enthusiasm!
    Running a race every weekend? That’s awesome.
    I feel the same way about following a training program. If I’m not (like right now) I feel lost.
    I’m just waiting for my friend to do a tri training schedule for me. I love to follow a schedule 🙂
    And good to hear that you are not feeling any pain.
    Have fun on your races!!

    Posted by biancavalentim | April 7, 2011, 6:28 pm
    • Thanks! Some may call my enthusiasm being an idiot. But either way, until my body makes a strong argument as to why not to race all the time, I suppose I’ll stick with it.

      A tri would be a ton of fun. I wish there were more opportunities for them around here.

      Posted by RoadRunnerPatrick | April 7, 2011, 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

