/
you're reading...
Uncategorized

RoadID Wrist ID Slim Review

It even comes in a nice little tin!

I own the RoadID wrist ID sport already. Dear wife bought it for me very shortly after I broke my hip. At first I could remember to pick it up every time I’d go running, but that (like all good things) eventually started to get forgotten. Ahh but I had a solution: just wear it all the time.

So that’s what I did, for a while. The dear wife would ask: “why are you wearing that ugly thing into church/restaurant/other “nice” establishment”. I’d usually respond with an “Eh. whatever” and keep on trucking it. The Mom started in on me about it, having a fit everytime she’d see me thinking for a second or two I had been in the hospital recently and was wearing one of the ID bracelets they give you.  No no, I’d respond, it’s just my wrist ID.

This was enough. I figured if I’m going to wear this that much, I may as well get one that’s more socially acceptable to look at. I had set my mind on the wristID Elite ( the wide strap rubberized bracelet). Then I saw them advertising the new Wrist ID Slim.

I really enjoy it. It is incredibly durable. I’ve had it since early June 2011, and it still looks as good as new. So now, when I frequently forget my other wrist id, I always have this one on/close by.  The bands themselves come in several different colors for those who like to accessorize, and the ID portion simply slides off one bracelet and onto the next.

Identification of some sort is imperative for active individuals. You just never know. Goodness knows that I never in a million years thought I would have a broken hip that day. Had it not been a race, I’m not sure what I would have done. I almost never tote a cell phone while running,  so I suppose I would have been stuck out there alone until someone happened to wander by. Now imagine the same scenario but instead of broken hip its “heart attack” or “stroke” or “hit by a car”. Something that leaves you unconscious where you can’t communicate. How do you tell the good samaritan who stopped to help who you are, or who to call?

Besides all that, its cheap ($16!) (oh, and if you need a coupon  let me know, I get them all the time via email…usually they’re save $2).

So yea. There’s my take.

www.roadid.com

disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with Road ID. I didn't get one free for writing this. They didn't pay me to
say any of this. I really do just believe in the product. I wish I was cool enough to get free stuff, but the 3 of
you who visit the blog on a regular basis (apparently) aren't enough to be noticed. *Apparently* if you're going
to get the good any free stuff, you have to be popular and/or cool. I am neither of which.
Discussion

8 thoughts on “RoadID Wrist ID Slim Review

  1. That’s a good-lookin’ ID band. Nonrunners might not get why you’d want to wear something like this all the time, but they’ll be glad you do if something unfortunate happens on the road or trail.

    I have the shoe model, which coincidentally also says “Run your guts out!” on the bottom line. We’re like a supersecret RoadID club!

    I’m gonna link your review on the 12athon page since that’s one of the prizes. Well done!

    Posted by Iris | January 19, 2012, 5:25 pm
    • Exactly. I’d rather wear it all the time than be caught without it if I need it.

      I’m about 104% sure I stole “run your guts out” from you at some point last year, but I’m not sure what the occasion was.

      Thanks for the linkback! I always like more traffic!

      Posted by Patrick | January 19, 2012, 5:31 pm
  2. yeah…probably a good idea! Is there a specific color associated with the “broken hip club”? Send me the coupon.

    Posted by Claudia | January 19, 2012, 9:46 pm
    • Broken hip club color… Hmmm… Not sure about an official color, but we should come up with one. I currently wear black, because it matches most daily attire, but if blue or green or etc becomes the official broken hip color I’ll surely get another band!

      Email sent with code! Lmk if it doesn’t work properly…

      Posted by Patrick | January 20, 2012, 12:41 am
  3. I have the shoe model but sometimes wear different shoes. Husband is worried this will result in my dead carcass being left on the side of the road. So I’m glad to know you like the band variety.

    Posted by DrRachelRuns | January 19, 2012, 10:52 pm
    • Yes yes I do greatly enjoy the wrist version. I looked at the shoe model, but was worried if I fell out they wouldn’t look at my shoes. I knew with a wrist band they’d check pulse, and subsequently find my ID at the same time.
      If you like the shoe version, why not get a second one for other shoes?

      Posted by Patrick | January 20, 2012, 12:44 am
  4. I’m going to get a RoadID tiara for Iris for her birthday.

    Posted by Barefoot Josh | January 20, 2012, 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

