/
you're reading...
Training

More Boring Stuff nobody reads.

So January is in the history books. I wound up running a lot more days than not, and I generally feel pretty good about it. I managed to drop 4 pounds, 15 more and I’ll be back to where I was this time last year.  I’ve ran one pitiful race this year, struggling to finish 3 miles and feel strong. That’s what got my “rear in gear” and back out there on a semi-regular basis. This week I struggled to finish 16 miles strong, but that’s a little different ballgame than a 3 mile stint.

 

Interesting facts: I run mostly on Monday’s. Like every Monday so far this year. Go figure. I skip a lot of Wednesdays. Only ran two.  I do most of my long runs mid week, and my shortest distances on Sunday’s.

I still haven’t done anything to make myself faster, just stronger. No speedwork, no legit hillwork (ie hill repeats) nothing. Just running. Every once in a while I’ll take a notion to push the pace, but not enough. I think next month that’s going to be on my to-do list.

I’ve signed up for two of my races already, the Martinsville Half Marathon and the New River Marathon. I want to run a 5k in early March, to remember how it feels to race, but haven’t seen anything that really strikes my fancy. There is a 1/2 marathon in town on March 10th, but it’s not a race I care anything about running (trail race). I did find one in Greensboro, the Commuter Dash 5k, which looks like an easy out and back. Just what I’ve got in mind. Not to mention it’s free!

Just look at all those blue days....

 

Because you read this much useless trivial information, and because I’ve been looking for an excuse to share this video,  here’s a bit of entertainment:

 

and as a post script note, I actually had to edit wording in two paragraphs because of this video. Damn easy miles.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “More Boring Stuff nobody reads.

  1. No need to do speedwork yet anyway. You got back in the groove, that’s the important thing. Start with a few gentle fartleks, then a month before the taper kick it into high gear.

    Posted by Barefoot Josh | February 2, 2012, 6:45 am
    • thanks for the suggestion. I was actually wondering when (if ever) you do speedwork, I don’t remember ever seeing you mention it. I see you run faster some days than others, but nothing that looks like track work or etc.

      Posted by Patrick | February 2, 2012, 8:47 am
      • I’m never on a track. It’s not the track, it’s high school. High school scares me.

        The paces you see include warming up and cooling down. I warm up very slowly.

        For 5k – 10k, I have two speed runs and a brisk longish run per week, with easy runs (lots of focusing on form) in between. Marathons get one speed run per week with a long run.

        Speed work for me is: Big hills, hill repeats, intervals (400s and 800s on a stretch of road), and tempos.

        Posted by Barefoot Josh | February 3, 2012, 8:12 pm
      • Bad experience in high school?

        I usually try to do hills for speedwork as well, but anytime I do intervals/tempo runs I have trouble making myself run fast. I can run, but picking up the pace– especially when I’m out alone– is tough. I try, then I slow down without realizing it.

        Posted by Patrick | February 4, 2012, 6:19 pm
  2. wait. taper. Am I supposed to do that before races? I’ve never had the opportunity before….I’m not sure I even know how to taper….

    Posted by Patrick | February 2, 2012, 8:47 am

Leave a Reply

