/
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Doubts, murmurs, second thoughts….

Doubts are starting to fill my idled mind. Can I do this? Can I meet my goals?

I have no doubt of my ability to run 13.1 miles, or 26.2 miles, or further, if I decided to. My big doubts are surrounding the fact that can I race the distance. I know I’m still fairly early in my training regimen, but I’m not sure it will leave me at my peak performance.  I suppose I’d like to beat 95 minutes for the Martinsville 1/2 marathon next month.  I’d really like to beat the brakes off of 95 minutes, and get it close to 90 minutes.

I’m running more miles per week than I ever have. All reasonable sources say that as long as intensity isn’t sacrificed, more mileage will make you better/faster/stronger. Being as I’ve no intensity to speak of (no speed work, no hill repeats, etc) since before I had the surgery, I figure I’ve got to be getting stronger.

 

Then I look at today’s long run of 16 miles. I need to be running something like 7:15 to hit a sub-95 minutes 1/2. The “experts” claim that I should run my long runs within 60-90 seconds of race pace. So I should be running long runs at 8:45. I can barely make it through at a pace of 9:45. That’s a full minute too slow. Does that mean I should expect something closer to an 8:15 pace for the 1/2 marathon? Geez, won’t I feel foolish for all these long runs and extra miles if the best I can muster is nearly 40 seconds per mile slower than I was a year ago?

I’m nervous and having second thoughts in my training right about now. I do plan to run a 5k on March 10th, and hopefully that will boost confidence again.

I suppose I feel like I need to run faster if I want to run faster, but I can’t make myself “just do it”.

 

That’s really about all for now.

Discussion

One thought on “Doubts, murmurs, second thoughts….

  1. My training times were always slow compared to my racing times. Still are, for the most part. I don’t plan it that way, it’s just what happens.

    I think you’re probably fit enough to meet your time goals, but more speedwork will get you used to the effort level. If the feeling of speed is familiar, your body won’t panic (as much) during the race and try to shut you down.

    Other than that, though, don’t fret the formula. To speed up your long runs just do a little bit at a time – start out just a little bit faster, hold on the the pace for just a little bit longer, etc. It’s not easy, of course. If it were, everyone would be fast.

    Posted by Barefoot Josh | February 18, 2012, 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

