/
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Current Running Status

Well, I’ve gone and done it now. I’m all hobbled up. I suspect that my biggest problem was too much mileage too quickly, but now one step in front of the other leads me to hurting for 12-24 hours following the run.

Last week I took the new dog on a few runs, just because he’s nearly a year old pitbull, and if he doesn’t get some exercise, he is completely out of control running around the house, tearing up everything. I’ve since discovered that 5~ish miles of walking tires him out equally as well as 2.5-3 miles of running.

I have planned on running a race this weekend, just a 5k, to gauge current fitness. I’m hoping that I can take a few *more* days off and heal up, switch up shoes (again!!) and be good to go by the weekend.

 

I bought my current mizuno’s on a recommendation from a Greensboro NC based running store, which shall remain nameless, but I do believe they are completely wrong for my running style. They are a “performance stability” shoe, where as I am used to running in a neutral shoe.

So I’ll pick up a new pair of shoes, and try it again this weekend. I think time off will always do me some good to heal up some nagging little injuries too. Silver lining here.

Ah well.

Last months run/training report will follow up tomorrow.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Current Running Status

  1. Hi Patrick,

    So sorry to hear that you’re hurting. is it your hip?

    I’m finally able to walk without my cane. I had an MRI done last Thursday and will know the results tomorrow when i see the surgeon. Hoping i can still avoid the surgery. if so, i have a 5k on my radar for August if i can get back in shape by then.

    hope you’re feeling better soon! love that you have a pit! they’re such great dogs. i’m involved in dog rescue and they get a bad rap.

    Posted by Heidi Carrens | March 12, 2012, 2:05 pm
  2. Hoping you’ll return to your blog and hoping you are feeling better.

    Posted by tcmers | June 17, 2012, 8:17 pm

Leave a Reply

